Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

SWGs, salt water chlorine generators, chlorinators,
ozone generators, UV systems, . . .
Willtur

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby Willtur » Thu 02 Sep, 2010 09:10

Thanks for the info. I will get the readings but most definitely appreciate the latter info cause I think it may help.
I found out I have a 7500 gallon pool and I think that the previous owner went big and it may think its a 20k and up pool so the calibration may need reset. Thanks again I will report back soon one way or another.


davidsos

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby davidsos » Thu 02 Sep, 2010 09:20

I think my daughter card and or mother board are bad but it looks like the pool is still geting chlorine? I have no lights on the pannel but my pool still looks chystal clear??
Poolman59

Goldline

Postby Poolman59 » Tue 21 Sep, 2010 16:20

Eng wrote:I had problems with my cell too. It seems like every 2 years they go bad. I got tired of paying money to get it replaced. I am an engineer, so I started studying how they work. It seems that the root of the problem is the temperature sensor at the cell. Check the temperature by pressing the button next to the display. Use a thermometer in the pool to check the water temperature. Is it off by more that 5 degrees? If it is, then you salinity will be wrong and it will call for more salt. The cell will shut down automatically. To overcome this situation I open my cell and cut the two wires on the side of the cell (red and blue). These are the temperature sensor wires. I installed an 8.5 K ohms resistor between the two wires. This will give you a forever temperature of 86 degrees. After that, the cell started working properly. Since I have a fixed temperature now I used salinity strips to keep track of the salt. This worked for me. If you want to do it, go ahead at your own risk. Other that this, there is no other way around it. I heard from other people having the same problem.
You said that you used an 8.5 k ohm resistor, how many watts and where can you buy them ( radio shack...)?
loveaz
Pool Newbie
Pool Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat 11 Apr, 2009 10:56
Location: Arizona

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby loveaz » Sun 26 Sep, 2010 17:12

Hi Please anyone with advice or troubleshooting.

My pool today showed No Powerlight and actually No lights at all on the Aqua Rite control panel. I check the breaker and such and seemed fine but I reset it anyway. Then the light that said No Flow came up because I had stopped the filter as well. After the No Flow light stopped (still no power light) Weird thing.. The Generating Green Light came on for like 10 seconds (still no power light or other lights on).

Then all went off.

All during this I checked and there was no readings for Salt but the other readings were there. So the numbers for Salt and Average Salt were Zero. The other numbers seemed all there.

But No lights again on the board at all. None!

I checked the chemistry and even though.. light the guy above.. the pool looks good.. There is no chlorine reading coming up on a tester strip.

The pool was not looking good after I left for a couple weeks and my son was home .. this was about 3 weeks ago. So I cleaned the cell really good and re set everything and it all was working ok. But still as it got cleaner I never got a chlorine reading. Also of course the reading of the amount of salt much lower than the actual amount in the pool but I was able to get it to generate and such .

UNTIL today.. Its all wacky.

Any help appreciated.

I am not even sure what the warranty is and I never used it and the system installed in the middle of 2006

I have had to get one new cell in that time and they replaced it for free.. So thats it.

Always have had trouble with salt readings on the unit compared to the real amount in the pool so I used the strips to keep it in check and always had to work hard to make sure it kept generating because it was always right on the borderline of the 2600 or highest 3200 ..

So anyway

The Lights off issue is my concern and when I trip the breaker it does the above things. I did it twice.

Werid

Please help

DEB
floridapooltech
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed 17 Feb, 2010 22:47
My Pool: License # CPO34-283076
Location: Tampa Bay, FL

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby floridapooltech » Sun 26 Sep, 2010 17:23

How old is this cell? Also, what software revision are you running on the base?
Florida Pool Tech is a Florida certified service company headquartered in Tampa, Florida employing the best technicians and installers in the industry! Vist us at http://www.floridapooltech.com

Specializing in pool service and pool repair
loveaz
Pool Newbie
Pool Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat 11 Apr, 2009 10:56
Location: Arizona

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby loveaz » Sun 26 Sep, 2010 17:50

Hi

My system software is
R 1.40

My Cell is about 1 to 2 years old.

The Cell is giving the unit the Temp correctly and the Flow Sensor is working too.

I am not thinking it is the Cell.

The Fuse is fine.

I was reading and found this

"West, you are my hero! Just checked for the "black thing" and sure enough...it is cracked and it looks like burn marks around it! I am ordering replacement part from Digi-Key Corp., the part# is 570-1062-ND, for 2.42 each. I am ordering two! Thank you!!"

I Looked and I do see a bit of black around the connection area and on the board. It is not cracked but when I touched it it seems to make a crackling noise like the connection was brittle?

Do you think that could be it??

I do not have a soldering gun.. but I have no money to have someone fix this??

What do you think?

Thanks for the quick response.
loveaz
Pool Newbie
Pool Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat 11 Apr, 2009 10:56
Location: Arizona

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby loveaz » Sun 26 Sep, 2010 17:52

PS I have this stuff called Wiring Glue and I have not used it yet as I bought it for a project that turned out not needing it. Anyone know about it. Your supposed to be able to use it and it conducts electricity and can be used instead of soldering.

I may be losing my house in the next six months and I do not want to dump a bunch of money into this and well not only do not want to I cant.. And though I want to keep up on the property because that is how I am..

THanks
loveaz
Pool Newbie
Pool Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat 11 Apr, 2009 10:56
Location: Arizona

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby loveaz » Sun 03 Oct, 2010 18:18

SO. I soldered on a new limiter and its working!!
Lights on and working but no Chlorine.
I go down and test the cell so that Failed now.

Its one thing after another..

This is my 2nd one and I am now in year 5...

Too bad they do not cover your replacement Cell with a full warranty again.. :cry:
floridapooltech
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed 17 Feb, 2010 22:47
My Pool: License # CPO34-283076
Location: Tampa Bay, FL

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby floridapooltech » Sun 03 Oct, 2010 18:26

loveaz wrote:SO. I soldered on a new limiter and its working!!
Lights on and working but no Chlorine.
I go down and test the cell so that Failed now.

Its one thing after another..

This is my 2nd one and I am now in year 5...

Too bad they do not cover your replacement Cell with a full warranty again.. :cry:



Did you happen to purchase the salt cell with a 1 year, or a 3 year replacement warranty? Some pool stores try to sell the cell with a 1 year warranty as it doesn't cost them as much, and they still try to turn around and sell it for a similar price as the 3 year warranty!
Florida Pool Tech is a Florida certified service company headquartered in Tampa, Florida employing the best technicians and installers in the industry! Vist us at http://www.floridapooltech.com

Specializing in pool service and pool repair
loveaz
Pool Newbie
Pool Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat 11 Apr, 2009 10:56
Location: Arizona

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby loveaz » Sun 03 Oct, 2010 18:39

So they said because I got a free replacement before the 3 year mark that that replacement is not considered new but they still go from the original purchase date

So on my 2nd cell I still have to use the purchase date that was now 5 years ago.

Thats how they do it.

I am noticing I have a T-15 cell and I do not have a 40000 gallon pool.. no way..

Return to “Salt Water Chlorine Generators, Ozone, UV”

Who is online at the Pool Help Forum

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests