Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

SWGs, salt water chlorine generators, chlorinators,
ozone generators, UV systems, . . .
Poman

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby Poman » Mon 08 Aug, 2011 19:07

kcooper1 wrote:We have a goldilne chlorinator. The control box lights up but there is no flow to the cell and the pool does not have chlorine. I read that the "board" can have issues. We removed the cover and see a dark spot appearing the something has burned out. What types of repairs / costs are we looking at? I can find information on replacement cells but not the boards.



The "burn" spot is a relay for the cell. This referral is an easy 10 minute soldering fix. Review the web site and save yourself $600+.

http://www.nocellpower.com/letter.aspx


68mustangjim

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby 68mustangjim » Tue 09 Aug, 2011 00:45

dumbwhiteguy wrote:My Cell has the Cell temperature short reading too. I have a better fix than the resistor. Take a sensor like the one that reads the water temperature and wire it to the red and blue wires. Then drill a hole in your PVC pipe and mount it just like the water sensor that is already there. Problem solved. I actually drilled a hole in the cover plate to run the wire through and silicone it with 100% silicone and it will be sealed. This way it will read the water temperature and it's not just rigged with a resistor. Part was $ 32.00 Saved me $ 500.00


What temp sensor did he use?

and or
The resistor rating or part number.
Raddirector
Pool Newbie
Pool Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon 15 Aug, 2011 09:35
My Pool: 16x32, vinyl, sand filter
Location: Indiana

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby Raddirector » Mon 15 Aug, 2011 09:53

First off this is a great forum and has saved me time and money and I thank everyone for there input. The reason for my post. Last week i replaced my tcell 15 because Leslies tested and confirmed that it was bad after 4yrs on that cell. Before going bad I made the error of adding salt to my pool thinking it needed it and now I find my self with a reading of 3700 from the store. Not worried about that because i can correct this by draining and adding new water. My problem is that the new cell after installing is reading 4700ppm and obviously not generating. For me to get this down to 3400 would require me to drain serious amounts of water and the actual salt content of the pool would be critically low. I retested the new cell today at leslies to verify that it was not a bad out of box cell and it passed. I think i understand that +-500 reading is normal but my system is 1000 off. Also the instant reading goes from 6100 down to 4700 and settles. Any ideas? Pool water temp is hot at 89 because of the insane heat wave we have add across the midwest.
floridapooltech
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed 17 Feb, 2010 22:47
My Pool: License # CPO34-283076
Location: Tampa Bay, FL

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby floridapooltech » Tue 16 Aug, 2011 14:46

Raddirector wrote:First off this is a great forum and has saved me time and money and I thank everyone for there input. The reason for my post. Last week i replaced my tcell 15 because Leslies tested and confirmed that it was bad after 4yrs on that cell. Before going bad I made the error of adding salt to my pool thinking it needed it and now I find my self with a reading of 3700 from the store. Not worried about that because i can correct this by draining and adding new water. My problem is that the new cell after installing is reading 4700ppm and obviously not generating. For me to get this down to 3400 would require me to drain serious amounts of water and the actual salt content of the pool would be critically low. I retested the new cell today at leslies to verify that it was not a bad out of box cell and it passed. I think i understand that +-500 reading is normal but my system is 1000 off. Also the instant reading goes from 6100 down to 4700 and settles. Any ideas? Pool water temp is hot at 89 because of the insane heat wave we have add across the midwest.


You're going to have to calculate for an adjusted reading. Water temperature over 75' F will affect how the cell, meter and strips read salt levels.
Florida Pool Tech is a Florida certified service company headquartered in Tampa, Florida employing the best technicians and installers in the industry! Vist us at http://www.floridapooltech.com

Specializing in pool service and pool repair
fish

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby fish » Sat 20 Aug, 2011 13:22

It would help if we knew what $32.00 sensor he was talking about.
floridapooltech
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed 17 Feb, 2010 22:47
My Pool: License # CPO34-283076
Location: Tampa Bay, FL

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby floridapooltech » Mon 22 Aug, 2011 19:57

fish wrote:It would help if we knew what $32.00 sensor he was talking about.


The sensor is likely not the issue with all cell failure's as if it were this simple, we would be carrying that part at all times. Just as everything else that breaks down, it's not always the same fix with all situations. It is always recommended to replace the cell when it quits working because when you start messing around with internal parts of an electrical system and something wasn't done completely correct, the chance remains that you will damage the power center which will severely outweigh the cost of replacing just the cell over an attempted fix, causing you to replace both!
Florida Pool Tech is a Florida certified service company headquartered in Tampa, Florida employing the best technicians and installers in the industry! Vist us at http://www.floridapooltech.com

Specializing in pool service and pool repair
Susn

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby Susn » Fri 02 Sep, 2011 13:25

For those of you whose salt reading is not accurate on the chlorine generator, are all of your other tests in the acceptable range? Our generator salt readings were consistently low compared with our pool supply store readings, and too low for the generator to work. I was more interested in correcting salt than adding muriatic acid, etc. so I could get my chlorine up. Then I gave up and decided I needed to chlorinate by bottle instead of generator so we could use the pool. Several of my readings were off. As I corrected with acid, the salt reading on my chlorine generator started to go up. Also, it seems like the generator can't go from zero to appropriate chlorine. I needed to add bottled chlorine and then the generator kept it at the right level. This has been very frustrating.
hey_moe
Pool Newbie
Pool Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 29 Jun, 2011 15:24
My Pool: 12x24x52 AGP,Saltwater
Location: USA

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby hey_moe » Sun 04 Sep, 2011 06:42

I also have that problem...lol. It was showing 3100 and even when I ran the dia. test it also showed the same readings. After resetting everything same problem. After taking it to have it checked to two different compamies it was really 3800. You would think the cost of this product it should at least give a right reading.The reading of the volts and amp draw was right. At first I thought I had a bad cell, but lucky for me it wasn't. I am a HVAC Tech and we have to depend on our equiment or meters to give us the correct reading. In the case of this product you really can't depend on any of the reading to be right.
Susn wrote:For those of you whose salt reading is not accurate on the chlorine generator, are all of your other tests in the acceptable range? Our generator salt readings were consistently low compared with our pool supply store readings, and too low for the generator to work. I was more interested in correcting salt than adding muriatic acid, etc. so I could get my chlorine up. Then I gave up and decided I needed to chlorinate by bottle instead of generator so we could use the pool. Several of my readings were off. As I corrected with acid, the salt reading on my chlorine generator started to go up. Also, it seems like the generator can't go from zero to appropriate chlorine. I needed to add bottled chlorine and then the generator kept it at the right level. This has been very frustrating.
MartyCombat

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby MartyCombat » Mon 12 Sep, 2011 18:44

Hey, Excel in Maryland!!!!
I have been trying to get someone to come out and fix my salt chlorinator for my pool for about one and one half months. i need help! Everyone I call either knows nothing about them or says leave an number and they will call back, but they never do. I called the Goldline support person for Maryland but his message says he retired and gave me another number which I have been leaving messages on to no effect.

Someone who can fix this thing, call me 410-757-5593
ncopley
Pool Newbie
Pool Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue 26 Jul, 2011 14:22
My Pool: 16K gal, pebbel tech, goldline TCell 15, inground pool with spa.
Location: Houston

Goldline "Aqua-Rite" salt chlorinator problems

Postby ncopley » Fri 07 Oct, 2011 10:59

It's me again...So I changed out the little black satellite lookind dish on the circuit board. Had a professional solder a new one on. Plugged it back in and STILL have a reading of 4900! New cell was also installed. I am worried that if I buy a new Circuit board to the tune of $500 that this may also NOT fix the problem! ANY IDEAS....ANYONE?

Return to “Salt Water Chlorine Generators, Ozone, UV”

Who is online at the Pool Help Forum

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests