Spa Drains to pool...

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.

Spa Drains to pool...

Postby Guest » Tue 26 Dec, 2006 22:35

Hello all, I am new to this forum (and grateful that I found it) also, I am obviously a new pool owner...

here is my delimma...I am not very technical so please forgive me...

we have a gunite pool and we have been brushing the plaster... when i brush it in the spa, i turn the vales to "spa suction" and "spa return"..

i noticed that as i was brushing... the SPA EMPTIES.. there is water coming back into the spa, but it is also returning to the pool... so within a matter of minutes... the spa is empty...

i end up have to put it on "pool suction" to fill it back up again...

Why is this happening??? (I am still awaiting a resonse from the pool company...)

TIA... Gina

Pool Owner
Pool Care Proficient
Pool Care Proficient

Postby Pool Owner » Wed 27 Dec, 2006 13:32

Gina, it appears that your return line valve is not is not sending all of the water back to the spa. Do you have similar problems when you are using/heating the spa? When you say turn the valve to “spa return” is that manually or through a controller? If it is manually, you probably have a valve that needs to be adjusted/repaired/replaced. If it is through a controller, you will need to trouble shoot the entire system. Since it sounds like you have a new pool, the builder should respond quickly.