New pool owner of pool not used in 2 years

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
Journeytaker
I'm new here
I'm new here

New pool owner of pool not used in 2 years

Postby Journeytaker » Fri 01 Jun, 2007 09:14

Hello everyone!

I hope that someone can help me. We bought a house with a swimming pool that was so bad frogs were living in it. It was dark green and had sheets of algea coming to the top. WE have shocked it with pool shock and alge guard vaccumed to waste as well as skim the top with a net to remove dibris.
We then lowered the pH to help inhibit further algea growth.

The pool is 45,000 gallons and rectangular according to the paper work left by the previous owner. It is a Salt pool as well. There is a generator on it to make chlorine.

I am a complete novice at pool chemistry and calling someone to help right now is not an option. Right now the pool is a blue cloudy mess with some foam on top. I bought a test HTH 6 way test kit and these are the results:

PH 6.8
CHlorine: 5.1
ALK: 50ppm
Hardness: 0
CYA: 0

I am not sure how to proceed. I was told to use bleach and borax, but I am confused. We have been running the filter for 2 days now and still cannot see even 1 ft. into the water. I hope I have given enough information and I thank you in advance for your help.

Nichole

I am going to try to post a pic later if I can.

Postby Guest » Fri 01 Jun, 2007 09:21

I forgot to add that the pool is inground with a vinyl liner
Buggsw
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Postby Buggsw » Fri 01 Jun, 2007 10:04

Congratulations on how far you've already taken it. You're doing a good job by asking instead of just throwing in chemicals.

Going from an actual pond with frogs to a blue pool is commendable.

You really should keep your pH higher than that with a vinyl pool.