Acid Wash

Tile, mosaic, marbelite, Marcite, Marblesheen,
fiberglass, plaster, shotcrete, paint, epoxy coatings.
Use, care and repair of the various surfaces.
TigerHawk
I'm new here
I'm new here

Acid Wash

Postby TigerHawk » Sun 26 Feb, 2006 16:26

Going to paint our pool for the first time this year---the pool has been painted, this is my first time painting it--and I'm wondering about the acid wash procedure. Can / would it be recommended to load up the acid mixture into my pressure washer and spray down the pool or do you think the pressure washer would damage the plaster? Or, is it just as easy to apply the mixture with a watering can and scrub the surface with a brush? I don't want to harm the plaster or completely strip the old paint, but at the same time I would like to complete the wash part of the job within a couple days time while still accurately preppig the surface---we live in Iowa and spring time tends to be rainy so I need to wash the pool and cover it with a tent to keep rain, leaves and critters out before and during the painting and curing process.

Pool Help

Acid wash a pool

Postby Pool Help » Sun 26 Feb, 2006 18:20

Firstly don't use your pressure washer. All decent pressure washers have brass or aluminum pumps. The acid mixture will eat through it in no time, wrecking your pressure washer.

Acid washing is really quite simple. This is how we do it.
  1. dilute one part muriatic acid with one part water (adding the acid to the water)
  2. dip a soft brush into the solution and brush evenly over the walls
  3. depending on the amount of build up to be removed, rinse after 30 seconds to 3 minutes
  4. repeat in localized areas if necessary
  5. now repeat on the floor. This may not always be necessary as the acid from the walls tends to slosh around the floor.

You don't really need to scrub the surfaces - the acid does the cleaning for you. A 20,000 gallon pool shouldn't take more than a few hours to acid wash completely.