Sand in Pool - new parts

Leaks in the pool, plumbing, filtration system, skimmer, ...
Finding & repairing swimming pool leaks.
edgriff
I'm new here
I'm new here

Sand in Pool - new parts

Postby edgriff » Fri 22 Jun, 2007 13:46

I have been getting sand in the pool. I have a Hayward S220T. I replaced the sand; no help. I then replaced the Multiport; again no help. And finally I replaced the center pipe and lateral assembly and all laterals; no joy.

One varible is the pump. I had it replaced last year by a "hack". I can't remember if the sand was in the pool before that or not. The pump is 3/4 horse and 57 gpm (I think). Could the pump be too strong?

I see no visible signs of leakage. The pool level does drop slightly but I am in the south and the daily temp has been 90+ since the first of June.

Any ideas?

Buggsw
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Postby Buggsw » Fri 22 Jun, 2007 20:30

I'm not a pump expert, but I don't think it's because the pump is too strong in your case - hopefully someone more knowledgable about the mechanics of a pump to filter will be along, soon.

Did you replace the parts yourself? Perhaps a part is defective. Perhaps there is not enough sand in the filter. These are just ideas, I've heard, as again, I'm not a pool mechanic.
edgriff
I'm new here
I'm new here

response

Postby edgriff » Sat 23 Jun, 2007 21:45

Thanks Buggsw!

I did replace the parts myself, but since the symptoms are the same, I doubt both sets of parts are defective (unless they were made in China :)) I am beginning to think that I have a pipe leak. I have dug up what I have access to and don't see any water. To go any further, I have to break concrete. I will not attemt that myself.
edgriff
I'm new here
I'm new here

response

Postby edgriff » Sat 23 Jun, 2007 21:51

To follow up: I put the recommened 250 pounds of sand in the filter.