Purple staining/Manganese

Discussions that do not fit into any of the
swimming pool categories and general topics.
vstang

Postby vstang » Fri 03 Aug, 2007 17:19

Anyone have a problem with purple stains on liners of inground pools? Looking for solution to removing as well as prevention. Tried the chemical process then scrubbing as much as I could then cleaning filters. Any ideas? It has been suggested this is manganese.

Backglass
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Re: Purple staining/Manganese

Postby Backglass » Sat 04 Aug, 2007 08:47

vstang wrote:Anyone have a problem with purple stains on liners of inground pools? Looking for solution to removing as well as prevention. Tried the chemical process then scrubbing as much as I could then cleaning filters. Any ideas? It has been suggested this is manganese.

Have you had your water tested for metals to be sure? Do you fill with well water?
===============================
I'm no expert...just a long time pool owner. The real experts are at www . troublefreepool . com

Download Bleachcalc free at troublefreepool . com /files/BleachCalc262.exe and start saving money on chemicals.
vstang

purple stains/manganese

Postby vstang » Sun 05 Aug, 2007 10:23

Yes, we get the water tested at least once a week at the pool company we use. Our chlorine, alkalinity and ph levels are right on. Never no metals. However, they do not test for manganese. Our water supply is a community well, not private well. There are 11 other inground pools in our subdivision and I haven't heard of anyone else with this problem. Could this possibly be something other than manganese?
Dax67
Pool Newbie
Pool Newbie

maybe too late

Postby Dax67 » Fri 22 Feb, 2008 11:33