Had black algea, now I don't know what it its---HELP!

Algae problems in swimming pool water.
Green (cloudy) water or slimy pool walls.
Black algae. Mustard algae. Pink or white pool mold.
Kasey

Had black algea, now I don't know what it its---HELP!

Postby Kasey » Tue 28 Aug, 2007 10:44

I had black algea in the bottom of my diamond brite pool. Bought silver algeacide, used as directed and now have something tan to brown colored with what looks like twigs running thru it, have brushed the pool w/wire brush and am dumping muriatic acid in---all other levels have checked out fine---can you tell me what else to do please?

Backglass
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Postby Backglass » Tue 28 Aug, 2007 12:22

Why are you adding the acid...is your PH high?

Please post a full set of test numbers....
===============================
I'm no expert...just a long time pool owner. The real experts are at www . troublefreepool . com

Download Bleachcalc free at troublefreepool . com /files/BleachCalc262.exe and start saving money on chemicals.
Kasey

Had black algea, now I don't know what it is---HELP!

Postby Kasey » Tue 28 Aug, 2007 14:19

Backglass wrote:Why are you adding the acid...is your PH high?

Please post a full set of test numbers....

I am adding the acid as the pH was high---7.8, plus Pinch A Penny said to throw in one quart for four days
The following are test numbers:
Total Chlorine: 2.0
Free Chlorine: 2.0
Combined Chlorine: 0.0
Acid Demand: 1
Total Alkalinity: 150
Calcium Hardness: 190
Stabilizer: 40ppm
Salt: 2400ppm

Hope this will give you a picture of what is going on, thank you!
fatybabe
Pool Care Proficient
Pool Care Proficient

Postby fatybabe » Wed 29 Aug, 2007 00:55

You should rub some chlorine or bromine tabs on the area affected by black agea but at first use your metal brush to scrap the surfaces before you do so.

That will rid yr black algae.
chem geek
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader