Dual Speed Pumps

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
sparkwatercleaner

Dual Speed Pumps

Postby sparkwatercleaner » Thu 18 Oct, 2007 21:09

Hi!
I just saw the label on my pool pump which states power consumption P1 and P2, which I understand means power, position or a synonym of speed. But I don't see on it any switch showing two positions, or speeds. There isn't any switch on the pump itself!
How are dual speed pumps controlled? By a special electric panel, or do they have any switchs on them? Could it be that the electrician didn't install the speed panel???


Ickle
Pool Care Proficient
Pool Care Proficient
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri 24 Nov, 2006 17:19
Location: U.K.

Postby Ickle » Fri 19 Oct, 2007 10:48

I think you might find you dont have a dual speed pump, but what you are looking at is, the amount of power your putting in, and getting out, with P1 being what power your putting in and P2, being what is made, if that makes sense.
sparkwatercleaner

Postby sparkwatercleaner » Sat 20 Oct, 2007 17:57

Ok, but I found on the web that the pump I have (Astral: Model Sena) may be both dual or simple speed. Anyway, dual speed pumps need auxiliary equipment in order to change speed, don't they?
Ickle
Pool Care Proficient
Pool Care Proficient
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri 24 Nov, 2006 17:19
Location: U.K.

Postby Ickle » Wed 24 Oct, 2007 11:58

yea you would need an aux switching unit, to get the change in power, in order to gain the second speed
sparkwatercleaner
Pool Care Proficient
Pool Care Proficient
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat 20 Oct, 2007 18:31

Postby sparkwatercleaner » Wed 24 Oct, 2007 15:35

thanks!!

Return to “Basics for New Pool Owners”

Who is online at the Pool Help Forum

Users browsing this forum: oBot [bot] and 0 guests