cloudy, thinking about calling the pool man to fix the h2o

Causes and cures for cloudy swimming pool water.
Milky pool water, white, pink, brown, purple, black cloudy water.
another nowbie post

cloudy, thinking about calling the pool man to fix the h2o

Postby another nowbie post » Sun 27 Apr, 2008 17:43

First I am a noob when it comes to a pool, the closest exp I had was with one of them blue kid pools that were popular a few years back.

Let me run you thru my experience so far this year.

Opened my pool 7 days ago, had green mesh type cover. The water was a little green and minimal visibility, no leaves, some bugs the norm I expect.

I had to put some stabalizer into it but other then that just chlorine. The first 3 days I kept it at 10 for my cl levels then let it settle into about 3-4 for the remaining days (until yesterday Ill get into that). The water went from greenish to a nice looking blue, I could barely see the shallow end but no hope oh the deep end. I vacummed alot and brushed it alot also.

This pool just will not clear up. At one point I had it where on the shallow end I could see where I missed vacumming it. At this time I increase the chlorine dramatically (using liquid clorox unscented). I also was reading on these forums that the jets should not shoot "up" cause it keeps the water from recirculating, so I now have my jets shooting on a hard diagnal down.

I backwash nightly even though the pressure gauge doent indicate this is needed.

As I look at my pool now it is still blue but I can barely, and I mean barely see the shallow end bottom or second step in deep end ladder. Yesterday I dumped alot of liq chlorine into it to try and reshock and see the deep end floor for the first time since we moved in.

Am I missing something here? Im shocking the hell out of it in hope to clear it, my sand filter has been running for almost 175 hours STRAIGHT.