Help? New House w/a Giant Pond That's Supposed to Be a Pool?

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
WaterWoman
I'm new here
I'm new here

Help? New House w/a Giant Pond That's Supposed to Be a Pool?

Postby WaterWoman » Sun 18 May, 2008 00:57

I'm a true pool newbie here. In every sense of the word.

We're buying a house with a pool. I've never had a pool before, and wasn't really looking for a pool, but the rest of the property is perfect and the price is right, so--if all goes through as expected--I'm going to become a pool owner very soon. :)

This pool comes with problems, though (part of why the price of the house was reduced, I figure). The house has been sitting empty for around a year now, so no one has maintained the pool for at least that long. It's a real mess. We're going to be strapped for cash after all the costs of buying this house, so we can't afford to pay someone to come in and clean this mess up for us. (I wish we could!) But this pool MUST be dealt with ASAP, so we have no choice but to learn what we need to do and do it ourselves.

All I know right now is that it's an in-ground gunite pool that's approximately 14' x 28', is about 3' deep at one end and maybe 7' deep at the other end. I figure that makes it about a 15,000 gallon pool? There's a pump and the plumbing is all intact as far as I've been able to tell. I'm not sure of the brand name of the pump.