High TDS

Problems relating to pH and total alkalinity.
Increase ph, increase TA. Reduce pH, reduce TA.
pH chemistry advice and techniques for the pool.
Eddieboy

High TDS

Postby Eddieboy » Wed 03 Dec, 2008 16:11

Hi, I'm new to all this, with a new 'water park' pool to look after. It's 1,000,000 litres with flumes and rides. Bare concrete balance tanks and tiles finish. We get a lot of airation dut to water jets and rides. I have been told to keep my Total alkalinity at around 150ppm with calcium at 200ppm ph is 7.4. My problem is my TDS keeps rising currently 1900. I dilute at about 50 cubic metres a day and add 40 litres of Sodium Hypochlorite as disinfectant ( Free 1.5 ) 100 kilo of Sodium bicarbonate (to maintain TA), 15 kilo of calcium (to maintain hardness) and 175 kilo of dry acid (Sodium bisulphate) to maintain ph at 7.4. I have been told by our users (average 800 a day, max 2000) that the pool is great and the water is fantastic but I wonder why I must dilute so much to keep the TDS below 2000? The structure is 7 months old. Temp 30 degree celcius. Help???

chem geek
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader

High TDS

Postby chem geek » Wed 03 Dec, 2008 17:18

First of all, some of your numbers don't sound correct. 40 liters of Sodium Hypochlorite in 1,000,000 liters would raise the FC by 5 ppm if the strength were 12.5% as is pretty typical with chlorinating liquid. Even if it were only like 6% bleach, this would still be 2.5 ppm instead of the "Free 1.5" you quoted. The calculation is very simple as (12.5/100)*40 = 5 ppm since your pool is 1 million liters.