Low Pressure at Jets

Pool pumps, pool filters and the plumbing of
swimming pools. Sand filters, cartridge filters,
fabric filters and alternative filter media.
pool owner 43

Low Pressure at Jets

Postby pool owner 43 » Sun 01 Mar, 2009 12:41

Hello, I have a "0" pressure reading on my pool gauge, although my spa is returning water into my pool at a decent rate. Also, my pool sweep is not moving much at all, but the suction is strong.

When I turn on my spa (jacuzzi mode) the pressure on the gauge raises, but the jets are not pumping water into the pool at full velocity. Maybe half or two thrids.

I'm not really good with plumming, and do not have channel locks, how can I fix this, and what might the problem be? HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELP! :wtf:
Last edited by Larry on Sun 01 Mar, 2009 16:22, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved to a new topic

Low Pressure at Jets

Postby Guest » Sun 01 Mar, 2009 16:21

Sounds like a pump issue. Could be the motor is getting tired or a partially clogged impeller.

Could you post details about you pump and the age/ condition/ history of your pool.
Larry
Pool Forums Admin
My Pool: Pool Pro
Exclusively tiled concrete pools

Low Pressure at Jets

Postby Larry » Mon 02 Mar, 2009 04:00

my pool sweep is not moving much at all, but the suction is strong

This seems to point to a pump problem. If the suction pressure falls when the cleaner or vacuum is attached, the pump doesn't have the power to keep up the same water flow.
Ray1031
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast

Low Pressure at Jets

Postby Ray1031 » Mon 02 Mar, 2009 10:12

I am guessing a couple of things from your post - and not meaning to be rude in anything you read here/only helpful ...
First, I gather that you are a fairly new pool owner with little problem experience so far.