Pump Loosing Prime

Pool pumps, pool filters and the plumbing of
swimming pools. Sand filters, cartridge filters,
fabric filters and alternative filter media.

Pump Loosing Prime

Postby Guest » Sun 26 Apr, 2009 19:14

I'm fairly new to pools (this is my third swimming season of bumbling along figuring this thing out). I'm having trouble with loosing prime on my pump and low suction all together. The water seems to circulate well, but not when I close the main drain.

I can barely get enough suction to vac some (with low suction) and then after 10 mins or so it looses suction and releases the hose.

From reading other posts here, I'm thinking I may have an air leak above water level. I do not loose water. We have tried several things to check for a blockage in the line from the pump to the skimmer. 1) ran a garden hose in both sides (pump side and skimmer basket) to try to blow out blockage. 2) ran plumbing snake in from pump side about 10 ft with no apparent obstruction. 3) tried attaching shop vac on suck at skimmer. It sucked water, but nothing else.

I can't hear any suspicious air movement in the pipe/pump area. I am somewhat concerned about the automatic chlorinator seal possibly leaking. It is a Hayward with screw on top. How could I tell?

Appreciate any help you can offer.

Heidi

Me...
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Pump Loosing Prime

Postby Me... » Mon 27 Apr, 2009 09:40

Does it lose prime when you try to run on the skimmer only WITHOUT attaching the vacuum? Be sure any air being sucked in isn't just being hauled in through the skimmer because of excess suction too.

Pump Loosing Prime

Postby Guest » Mon 27 Apr, 2009 11:01

It does loose prime on skimmer only as well.

I'm not sure what you mean about air coming in thru skimmer because of excess suction. Can you elaborate for me?