Copper/oxidation systems

SWGs, salt water chlorine generators, chlorinators,
ozone generators, UV systems, . . .
david.herman64
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 27,000 gallons, 20X40 Grecian Lazy L, Liner 2hp pentair whisperflo, 960lb pentair sand filter.

Copper/oxidation systems

Postby david.herman64 » Wed 29 Apr, 2009 16:53

I'm building a new ingroung liner pool and was considering buying the eco smart system. Do these systems work. Or should I just use chlorine. What is best. Thanks for the help.

Aquaclear-NZ
Pool Care Proficient
Pool Care Proficient
My Pool: ingound, 50,000L, gas heated, low energy pump and cartridge filter

Copper/oxidation systems

Postby Aquaclear-NZ » Mon 11 May, 2009 03:47

theres plenty of reviews on ionisers here

I work in the wholesale industry in NZ, and we do sell an ionising unit and some people are determined to have them.
While they would be fine if you were the only person ever using the pool , this is usually not the case

You still have to run the same residule of sanitiser as you would without the ioniser, and refular water balance must be maintained

at the same time i will be happy to sell yo uthe equivilant of 2l of algaecide for around $300 each year ($60 retail), which is the cost of the replacement anodes

so in a nutshell - they dont offer any saving, or practical alternative to chlorine
Chocolate fish do not swim in hot water
Me...
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Copper/oxidation systems

Postby Me... » Mon 11 May, 2009 11:01

Ion seems to be one more way people (not in the know) will try to get a system that claims to reduce or eliminate the so called problems of chlorine. Many if not most (of those in the know) will tell you that proper chemical testing, additions and levels will eliminate them too.