Problems understanding test readings

Problems relating to pH and total alkalinity.
Increase ph, increase TA. Reduce pH, reduce TA.
pH chemistry advice and techniques for the pool.
gardennorm

Postby gardennorm » Wed 13 May, 2009 14:23

Hi all
Im new to pool testing and maintenance and following a basic test i have the following results
PH Yellow ideal colour should be purple
Chlorine dark orange ideal colour should be pale yellow

Im unsure wether to shock the pool or add PH+ or do both or neither
The water is chrystal clear and there is a slight smell of chlorine
I also clean the filters twice a week
If anyone could help i would be very grateful

thanks

chem geek
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader

Postby chem geek » Thu 14 May, 2009 03:14

It sounds like you have test strips. They are usually not that accurate. You also should have a good drop-based test kit, either the Taylor K-2006 you can get at a good online price here or the TF100 kit from tftestkits.net here with the latter kit having 36% more volume of reagents so is less expensive per test.

You can then learn much more by reading at the Pool School.

Postby Guest » Fri 15 May, 2009 07:48

Thanks for your reply i will invest in a more advanced test kit

Just to add im using the odo and phenol red test solutions.
The results as described above are not changing and if anyone has any ideas i would be very grateful.

thanks
norm
kfkolonel

Postby kfkolonel » Fri 15 May, 2009 09:45

It sounds to me like you should increase your PH slightly, to get in the range of 7.2 - 7.8 . (I assume those numbers are on your tester.) You could use commercial brand name PH increaser, but a much cheaper solution is to go to the grocery and buy Borax. You may hesitate to do this, but read about grocery store chemicals. I've been using them for years and saving money.