Help - dirty water

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
kmgt3232

Help - dirty water

Postby kmgt3232 » Thu 21 May, 2009 18:31

Help, I have no idea what's going on with our pool. Our water is so dirty. I was trying to sweep it tonight (we just had it opened a few days ago, but they didn't sweep it). There was a lot of dirt and leaves on the bottom. For some reason it didn't seem like it was working so I unhooked the sweeper and sure enough, there was no suction.

I tried to do a backwas to get things going again and the water is SO dirty. I ran it for quite a while trying to get that dirty water out of there. When I went to put it back on filter, the little spout thingy that pumps the water back in was putting dirty water back in the pool!

I don't know what to do. It's so gross I can't even see the bottom.

Help, I'm really new to pools. We just bought this house last August so we are still learning.

Denali
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Help - dirty water

Postby Denali » Thu 21 May, 2009 20:08

kmgt3232 wrote:Help, I have no idea what's going on with our pool. Our water is so dirty. I was trying to sweep it tonight (we just had it opened a few days ago, but they didn't sweep it). There was a lot of dirt and leaves on the bottom. For some reason it didn't seem like it was working so I unhooked the sweeper and sure enough, there was no suction.

I tried to do a backwas to get things going again and the water is SO dirty. I ran it for quite a while trying to get that dirty water out of there. When I went to put it back on filter, the little spout thingy that pumps the water back in was putting dirty water back in the pool!

I don't know what to do. It's so gross I can't even see the bottom.

Help, I'm really new to pools. We just bought this house last August so we are still learning.

Hi,