Just can't seem to trust the pool stores.

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
Crimson
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast

Postby Crimson » Tue 26 May, 2009 19:38

I'm sure this is a kind of a 'Well, no kidding' type of post but I need to rant a bit. I am in the Tampa, FL area and we have a few different pool chains around here that I have been going to. I recently purchased a forclosure house with a pool that had to be drained, replastered, and refilled. Being a first time pool owner I went to the internet and to the pool stores for information.

THANK GOD I didn't listen to them or my chemicals would be all messed up. They would have had me add way to much stabilizer, shock the hell out of it for no reason, and generally just don't seem to know WTF they are doing. Good thing I read sites like these before I went with their recommendations. My pool is doing well but I am still learning.

I haven't purchased a test kit yet but plan on doing so soon (I do have a cheap one that does pH and chlorine levels). The 2 stores I have been going to have been giving me in some cases radically different results. One store says my CYA is around 35, the other says 50. One says my TA is 150, the other says 110. One suggests I switch over to all solid chlorine, the other says all liquid.. How irritating not to be able to get consistent results or answers between the stores.

I guess the only answer is to do it myself. I don't know who to trust on the test results, and I can't seem to trust them on chemical recommendations or I would be all over the place.