Air bubbles and lose prime when vacuum hose connected

Leaks in the pool, plumbing, filtration system, skimmer, ...
Finding & repairing swimming pool leaks.
mlucas
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: 18x32 concrete Hayward Filter

Postby mlucas » Mon 01 Jun, 2009 18:56

I'm still quite new to the whole pool thing. I don't know a whole lot about the pool because it was neglected for over a year and a half before we moved in. I do know it's somewhere around 10-15 years old. It was disgusting when we inheritated it. the first season was a partial one because we didn't buy the house until the end of July 2007. The pool company came and put a new pump in because the old one was burnt up. It took my son and I 4 days of vacuuming to waste and refilling the pool to get it decent. I struggled on my own using literally hundreds of dollars in baquacil. Wow was that a mistake. Toward the end of the season I switched to chlorine (BBB). Didn't have near the work or money after that. Season two (last summer) didn't have much problem until I forgot to backwash and the pressure got too high on the pump and it was blowing water out of the seams of the pool. I'm not sure if that's what caused my air bubble problem or not. Then towards the end of the season the pipe broke that goes from the multi port valve into the filter and water flooded my pool house. So I called the pool company, they came and closed the pool and said it would be better to work on it when we opened this spring. Well it's this spring and I still have air bubbles coming out of the jets (the main drain is worse than the skimmer) so the pool place put it skimmer only and said they think I have a leak in the main drain just run it on skimmer. Well, that's all fine and good, but when I try to vacuum, the pump loses it's prime. I, personally think it's a leak in the pump, but the pool place thinks it's a leak in the main drain. Anyone have any ideas? Oh, I did mess around with it because it's been driving me crazy and I p