Using a DE filter - totally ignorant

Pool pumps, pool filters and the plumbing of
swimming pools. Sand filters, cartridge filters,
fabric filters and alternative filter media.
Howlleo

Postby Howlleo » Wed 03 Jun, 2009 20:15

I'm renting a room here during my summer job, so this isn't my pool and I don't know anything about it and I don't have a manual. I am a NYS certified pool operator, but that's another way of saying I'm slightly less ignorant than the other lifeguards.

The pool is full of algae. I've been reading the threads on algae fighting, and I'm ready to go out and buy a lot of bleach.

There is a vacuum, and I know how to use it.

The pump and filter is the problem. I've never had to deal with one of these things before aside from spinning a dial every now and then. It's a DE filter, and I know those are high-maintenance, but that's about it.

Is there an explanation of how to find your way around these filters? If I get a model number, can I find a diagram online?

And how often should I be changing cartridges (or whatever it has) while fighting algae?

Denali
Swimming Pool Superstar
Swimming Pool Superstar

Postby Denali » Wed 03 Jun, 2009 21:52

Howlleo wrote:I'm renting a room here during my summer job, so this isn't my pool and I don't know anything about it and I don't have a manual. I am a NYS certified pool operator, but that's another way of saying I'm slightly less ignorant than the other lifeguards.

The pool is full of algae. I've been reading the threads on algae fighting, and I'm ready to go out and buy a lot of bleach.

There is a vacuum, and I know how to use it.

The pump and filter is the problem. I've never had to deal with one of these things before aside from spinning a dial every now and then. It's a DE filter, and I know those are high-maintenance, but that's about it.

Is there an explanation of how to find your way around these filters? If I get a model number, can I find a diagram online?