Complete newby with pool problems..please help

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
budabell
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: Outdoor Salt water system, approx 6m x 3m, gunite crafted. not sure about pump etc

Postby budabell » Wed 22 Jul, 2009 10:15

Hi :) , I am totally new to the problems associated with owning a swimming pool, so hope someone can lend me a hand. Back in December we had a salt water swimming pool built in our garden....wonderful, we never hd any after care instructions as we were told that the salt water systems dont need any maintenance, so we left it. to cut along story short we ended up with a very very high ph level and lots of algae, (thats what we were told any how) so, i bought some algae killer and a ph lowerer in powder form. Hey presto,problem solved. Since then every week I check the ph level which now it is summer, is always on the high side and treat it accordingly with the powder stuff I bought. 2 weeks ago I noticed that the grout on the pool bottom was starting to look like there was a lot of dirt collecting on it, just as it had happened before. so i gave it a quick dose of algae killer and put some more ph lowerer in at the same time. Now, I have noticed that around the water line and in the filter thing there is a pale green line, also it is on some of the grout near the steps. I have testd the ph level and that is reading ok, on the bottom of the pool it looks like there is dirt gathering in the grout lines. CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME SORT THIS OUT, SORRY FOR THE STORY BUT ITS THE ONLY WAY I KNOW HOW TO EXPLAIN...AS I SAID I KNOW ABSOLUTLEY NOTHING ABOUT POOL MAINTENANCE.
Thank you in anticipation :wave:

superdoopie

Postby superdoopie » Wed 22 Jul, 2009 15:04