Will Cavitation Damge my Pump?

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
Noggin
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast

Postby Noggin » Sun 21 Feb, 2010 18:59

Warning: I'm a pool noob, so some idiocy may follow...

I spent a good part of the day replacing my booster pump. It was making a painfully loud squeal as it ran, so I assume it was the bearings. Local pool service company said that you can't rebuild the motor/pump I have (probably BS) but offered to install a new one for $550. So I said fuggit and replaced it myself.

After replacing the booster pump, I spent a few hours trying to figure out why my polaris creepy didn't work worth a damn. Wheels turned at about 8 RPM and I think should be 30 RPM and the tail didn't move. After a while, I finally figured out the quick disconnect and discovered that the filter there was slap full of silt and sand. Cleaned it out and now my creepy is super happy and my dog loves chasing it around the edge of the pool.

Once I got done working on all of that, I decided that my main pump is cavitating. It sounds like it chewing on rocks and I'm getting tiny air bubbles from the outlet in the pool. Am I going to hurt anything waiting until next weekend to try to work on it? I've posted a sound clip here. I'm almost out of daylight.

Pool Clown
Swimming Pool Wizard
Swimming Pool Wizard
My Pool: Uses a Chlorine generator, not a Salt Water Generator (SWG).

Postby Pool Clown » Wed 24 Feb, 2010 08:45

Do you have an attached spa? Try putting the valves to spa (like you were going to use it) and see if that changes the cav.
Factory warranty service for Pentair, Jandy, Raypak, Polaris, and Paramount pool cleaning systems.
Noggin
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast

Postby Noggin » Wed 24 Feb, 2010 21:09

no spa
Noggin
Pool Enthusiast
Pool Enthusiast

Postby Noggin » Sun 28 Feb, 2010 14:20