Is it normal for algae on sides of pool every 2 days?

Algae problems in swimming pool water.
Green (cloudy) water or slimy pool walls.
Black algae. Mustard algae. Pink or white pool mold.
birdslikemypool
I'm new here
I'm new here

Postby birdslikemypool » Sat 26 Jun, 2010 09:08

hi everyone,

this is my first time taking care of a pool. i am in phoenix, arizona. it is over 100 degrees very often in the summer. my pool is in a very sunny area.

the pool water looks great, but i have to brush the sides of the pool like every 2 days because green algae forms. after i brush it, it looks great..but then 2 days later it returns again.

the filter is a DE filter. i've been setting it to run all day when the sun is out. 5am to 8pm.

i think the pool is 12,000 gallons. it doesn't have a diving board and there's no very deep end. it doesn't have a liner. instead it has little bumpy rocks..i think called "pebbletech" or something.

i have a robot vacuum thing that goes around and cleans the bottom of the pool. i never see algae on the bottom of the pool.

i have 2 floating things that hold chlorine tablets. every 2-3 days i check these and fill them both up. so there's probably 8-10 tablets total in them.

i have a test kit that gives these results:
total hardness: 1000
total chlorine: 1
free chlorine: 3
ph: 7.6
total alkalinity: 150
stabilizer: 150

can someone tell me why even though i keep free chlorine above 3ppm, i still have to brush off algae every 2 days? what's wrong and what can i do?

i was thinking of getting a 3rd floating thing to put chlorine tablets in. is that a good idea or is something else the problem?

thank you

mas985
Swimming Pool Pro
Swimming Pool Pro

Postby mas985 » Sat 26 Jun, 2010 11:43