Water Chemistry Spot on but still a 'milky' haze to my water

Causes and cures for cloudy swimming pool water.
Milky pool water, white, pink, brown, purple, black cloudy water.
smcrea
Pool Care Proficient
Pool Care Proficient

Postby smcrea » Mon 09 Aug, 2010 15:43

Hi,

I'm not a total novice when it comes to looking after my pool and actually pride myself on keeping my water chemistry pretty much spot on.

Currently I'm at:
- Maintain an FC = 4ppm
- Combined Chlorine = 0ppm
- TA = 100pm
- Ph = 7.6
- SWG salt level 3500ppmwintewr
- TDS: Water is only 18 months old and we had a lot of rainfall last winter so I don't think my TDS is high

However I'm experiencing a water clarity problem that has me scratching my head. My water has a slight 'milky' haze to it. It's not it's sparkling text book example of pool water that I usually maintain.

Yesterday I cleaned my cartridge filters which I have to say were unusually dirty..maybe I let it go to long. Bit I normally clean every 3 months. I adjusted my Ph to 7.6 and I then shocked the pool with a chlorine shock. I have a 10K gallon pool and the shock instructions said that the 1Ib bag was good for 16K gallons. I broadcast last night and left the filter pump running.

This morning I re-checked Ph which had gone high (probably due to the shock) and adjusted back down to 7.6

However at lunchtime my water still has the 'milky' haze?

I suspect that my daughter went in at the weekend with to much sun blocker. This is a possible cause but cant be sure.

I'm a firm believer that you don't need the junk that pool shops try to sell and if you maintain a good water chemistry, sanitizer level and good filtration that you will have no problems. I also think that for everything you put in your pool there are two reactions. The one that is supposed to happen and also a none desirable side effect. So I do not want to start adding things like clarifiers unless I have to.