Pump problem

Water bugs, swimming insects and sweat bees.
Foaming bubbly water. Frogs in the pool.
Dead animals in the swimming pool.
Phil.c
Swimming Pool Pro
Swimming Pool Pro
My Pool: 28' x 10' indoor, liner, oil heater, sand filter.

Pump problem

Postby Phil.c » Mon 23 May, 2022 03:36

I've been using Astralpool Victoria Plus pumps for about twenty years but lately they don't seems to last. I run my pump continuously from May to September and four hours a day the rest of the year.

My last pumps bearings went after about four years, my current pump, runs for hours but then trips the contact breaker fuse, the filter is clean, the bearings are good and it runs cold, so no overheating, but it looks like I need another new pump!

Has anyone any ideas, or recommendations regarding a new pump please.

(Edit) I've just run the pump for four hours without any problems, but when I set the timer for it to work at four 30 min. periods over night, in the morning it's tripped out?

pump.jpg
pump.jpg (7.22 KiB) Viewed 1527 times

Teapot1
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader
My Pool: 12000 gallons vinyl liner,

Re: Pump problem

Postby Teapot1 » Tue 24 May, 2022 00:33

I would go for an energy efficient variable speed pump. Or at least a variable speed drive for a single speed pump. These are normally soft start so dont trip breakers and will save a lot on electricty especially as you run 24h. Slower filtration is better filtration.
I may not give you the answer you want to hear, but I will give an honest opinion of your situation as you decribe it.
Phil.c
Swimming Pool Pro
Swimming Pool Pro

Postby Phil.c » Tue 24 May, 2022 05:01

Thanks.
My pump has now been running for twenty four hours, it was tripping within eight half hour runs, so I assume it's the enitial startup with one of these that causes the trip, I'm wondering if an anti-surge plug will stop this, I think I have one somewhere, maybe worth a try :)