Help on Pool plumbing repair due to cracked PVC pipe

Pool pumps, pool filters and the plumbing of
swimming pools. Sand filters, cartridge filters,
fabric filters and alternative filter media.
jp112
I'm new here
I'm new here
My Pool: concrete, 8m x 4m
salterwater chlorinator

Help on Pool plumbing repair due to cracked PVC pipe

Postby jp112 » Wed 24 Jan, 2018 08:15

Hi everyone

just wondering if i could get some advice on a plumbing repair job. I've never done it before, but I think i can give it a go as it doesn't seem too difficult as long as i get some of the basics right.

If you look at the pictures - an elbow in one of the pool plumbing pipes has cracked due to tree roots pushing up against the piping.

It seems like there might be a few different ways to do this repair, so i just wanted to know what may be the best approach in terms of where to cut the pipes and what different pieces i would need to buy other than the elbow and some couplings.

This would be a short / medium term solution, because eventually i'm going to have to rip this tree down so that this issue does not re-occur with the roots growing over it (you can see from the top view photo that the piping is not even perfectly straight as over time it seems to have caused the pipe to bend slightly.

Here are the pictures:

https://ibb.co/cTgdmw
https://ibb.co/ht8Ktb
https://ibb.co/gzjQYb

So far thinking i will need the following:

Some "pressure" Couplings (to connect elbow to straight pipe and to connect the 2 elbows?)
1 or 2 90 degree PVC elbows, depending on the best solution
1x Glue
1x Primer
1x cable saw (to cut in the tight area)

once i cut it, i will take the cut off parts back to my local hardware / plumbing shop to check i get the right size pressure pipe fittings. From reading through a few different threads, people have had issues with different size pipes so i figure its best just to take it to the store.

Cheers

Teapot
Pool Industry Leader
Pool Industry Leader