Alternative to Auto Skimmer/Vacuum System Control Plate

Stairs, skimmers, jets, drains, lighting, water features
and miscellaneous pool water fixtures and fittings.
Elle
I'm new here
I'm new here

Postby Elle » Tue 20 Nov, 2007 13:19

I am a three-month old newbie to maintaining a roughly 14,000 gallon, in-ground swimming pool. I have a Pentair "Vac-Mate," described in its literature as a "multi-function vacuum/skimmer attachment." The Vac-Mate no longer seems to work. Do I really need to use this contraption? If not, what are some other plans for keeping the surface skimmed and the pool walls and bottom clean? E.g. can I just hook up the vacuum for a few hours or as needed each day, then disconnect and just run the pump through a skimmer basket for a few hours or as needed?

The symptoms of the failing Vac-Mate are (1) that the vacuum cleaner (a Hayward Ultra Vac) barely moves; (2) I feel very little suction in the line when I hold my hand against its end; and (3) when I connect the vacuum cleaner directly to the suction line (in the bottom of the well that holds the skimmer basket) of the pump, the vacuum cleaner once again zips around and picks up dirt accumulated on the pool bottom.

The Vac-Mate is about 1.5 years old but did see some serious chemicals (from chemical shocking) this past summer. I replaced the gasket that goes around the basket and seems to seal the basket against (1) the plate with all the control fixtures on it; and (2) the well. This did not fix the problem.

A vacuum gage shows no to little vacuum at the Vac-Mate.