Filter's and Sanitizers? What to choose?

The basics of swimming pool maintenance.
New swimming pool owner's questions.
Help getting started with daily pool care.
tooomey
I'm new here
I'm new here

Postby tooomey » Thu 28 Jun, 2012 00:19

My main question is what to choose? Hayward Salt System? Frog Mineral System? No System? I am getting my first in ground pool 18/36. I have had 4 different companies come out to give me pricing and they all seem to be pushing different things? They are all offering The Sta-Rite System Mod Media SM series Filter. Two are also offering Frog mineral system. One is pushing Hayward salt chlorination system. Last is not pushing any of them. Not sure if this matters but one is offering two main drains and others no main drains. I will be getting robot for cleaning. I am a newbie to pools and no nothing at this point so any help would be great. Its very hard for me to choose a system sense all have pros and cons. Who do I believe? One company says Frog has problems other says salt eats away over time??
I am sorry if this post is in the wrong place as I did not know where to put it.

TSH Tech

Postby TSH Tech » Thu 28 Jun, 2012 03:44

Before I begin, I'm going to give you the straight dope. I've been in this business for over 10 years, seen allot of products come and go. Everything said here is simply just another opinion.

Pool Floor Drains
This is an important topic, in recent years there have been changes to pool building that requires pool builders to install anti-entrapment floor drains. Now, what is that? Short story, it keeps people from getting stuck to the floor drain by the pump suction. Two floor drains is good, if it's 1 floor drain you are being offered, I hope(for safety sake) that it's a 32 inch three port anti-entrapment channel drain. If not, inquire about one.

Salt Water Chlorine Generators